Big step: Sri Lankan Govt announces visa-free entry to India and 6 other countries

National desk: In a recent step, Sri Lankan Government has announced visa-free entry to visitors from India and 6 other nations. The decision is a part of a pilot project which will continue till 31st March,2024 and has come to force with immediate effect. This would mean that till March 31st, Indian visitors don’t need visa to visit Sri Lanka and can travel without visa.  The decision was approved by Cabinet of Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka Foreign Minister Ali Sabry took to X and said , “Cabinet approves issuing of free visas to India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia & Thailand with immediate effect as a pilot project till 31 March.”

The nation has witnessed dip in tourists ever since the attack in 2019. The nation also faced economic crisis which led to critical shortage of basic amenities. The decision to provide visa free entry to seven countries is being viewed as a step to boost the tourism sector and welcome tourists from all across the world.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button