Nobel Prize 2023: Here is all you need to know about winners of Nobel Prize 2023

International Desk: Nobel Prize is an international award which is administered by Nobel Foundation and is accorded to people for their exceptional contribution in Humankind. The areas in which prize is given includes Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Economics and Peace.

The prize was established after Alfred Nobel who is well-known for the creation of dynamite. Swedish scientist who founded Nobel prizes is known for his contribution to science and owning 355 patents in life time.

After the announcement of Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences today, announcement of all the prizes have been done by the Nobel Foundation. The award will be conferred to laurates in a ceremony on December 10 as December 10 marks as the death anniversary of Alfred Nobel.

The announcement of winners for this year was made by the foundation. The award in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, economic sciences and Literature are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway. Here is all you need to know about the winners of Nobel Prizes 2023.

Nobel Prize for Medicine

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2023 has been jointly awarded to Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman for their pioneering work on mRNA technology which was highly helpful in COVID-19 vaccine development. The award has been given to recognize transformative medical technology that significantly altered the path of the pandemic and saved millions: the mRNA vaccines against COVID.

Nobel Prize for Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in chemistry for 2023 has been given jointly to three scientists jointly namely Moungi G Bawendi, Louis E Brus, and Alexei I Ekimov. Their contribution lies in the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots, minuscule nanoparticles whose properties are determined by their size. The nanoparticles which are  smallest components of nanotechnology  spread their light from televisions and LED lamps. They can even  guide surgeons when they remove tumour tissue, among many other things.

Nobel Prize for Physics

Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier received award for ultra-short pulses of light, which have enabled the close study of electrons. They were honoured for their groundbreaking experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light, allowing a profound study of electron dynamics within matter, particularly in atoms and molecules.

Nobel Prize for Literature

This year the award has been conferred to Jon Fosse who is a Norwegian author. As per the release, the award has been given to him for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.  Jon Fosse is one of the most renowned playwrights in the world. His writings consist of various genres including plays, novels, poetry collections, essays, children’s books and translations.

Nobel Prize for Peace

The award for 2023 will be conferred to Narges Mohammadi, Iranian freedom fighter for brave struggle for freedom of expression and the right of independence has come with tremendous personal costs. At present too, Narges Mohammadi is still in prison. This year Mohammadi was also awarded with the ‌UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences

  The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has conferred the award for 2023 to Claudia Goldin. The award has been given “for having advanced our understanding of women’s labour market outcomes” as per the official release. Goldin in her research uncovered key drivers of gender differences in the labour market. She through her research provided the first comprehensive account of women’s earnings and labour market participation through the centuries which revealed the causes of change, as well as the main sources of the remaining gender gap.

Also by receiving the award, Claudia Goldin has become the 1000th recipient of the Nobel Prizes.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button